Momentum Biennial


18 Jun - 02 Oct 2011

The 6th Momentum Biennial
18 June - 2 October 2011

Curators: Aura Seikkula (Helsinki, Finland), Christian Skovbjerg Jensen (Copenhagen, Denmark), Marianne Zamecznik (Oslo, Norway), Markús Thór Andrésson (Reykjavík, Iceland), Theodor Ringborg (Stockholm, Sweden).

The 6th Momentum Biennial, held in Moss, Norway, is predicated upon a conviction that the complexities of orientating the world depend on factors of memory and imagination that inevitably transpire within time and space. Indeed, we tend to emphasize the latter when considering human experience, but for each individual time and space expands back and forth, up and down and even sideways (to whatever elements each person takes into consideration at any given moment). The inherent present of each individual not only extends to momentary impressions but to his or her past as well as their expectations of the future, owing to the fact that we have the ability to imagine being somewhere else entirely, in any other place at any other time.

In extension to the two venues that usually house the Biennial, Gallery F15 – a historic countryside villa, and Kunsthall – a former brewery in the city center, the exhibition engages The Solberg Tower – an empty high-rise near the city of Moss. Furthermore, projects intervene in the exhibition infrastructure at unexpected hours and sites throughout Momentum. One of those events will be an itinerant performance program presenting itself around the Nordic region in the fall. A prelude to what might occur in Moss, the release of an introductory reader published by Mousse Publishing will take place in Venice during the Biennale opening, in which writers, artists and thinkers introduce the exhibition. Indicatory of an exhibition venturing to pin down, stretch and animate the experience of time in standstill, motion and reverse the Reader parallels the multiple layers of presentation and expressions characterizing the exhibition. Additionally, a subsequent catalogue will be published near the end of the Biennial, exploring what, where and when was experienced.


Øystein Aasan

Caroline Achaintre

Harpa Árnadóttir

Michael Baers

Margrét H. Blöndal

Paolo Bottarelli

KP Brehmer

Elina Brotherus

Heman Chong

Bruce Conner

Jason Dodge

Aleksandra Domanović

Leif Elggren

Luca Frei

Ellie Ga

Ásdís Sif Gunnarsdóttir

Hamza Halloubi

Magnús Logi Kristinsson

Matti Kujasalo

Oliver Laric

Karl Larsson

Ann Lislegaard

The Long Now Foundation

Lorenzo Scotto di Luzio

Katarina Löfström

Daniel Medina

Naeem Mohaiemen

Maria Miesenberger

Ulrike Mohr

Eadweard Muybridge

Simon Dybbroe Møller

Rosalind Nashashibi

Ioana Nemes

Finnbogi Pétursson

Prinz Gholam

Raqs Media Collective

Mandla Reuter

Nikolai von Rosen

Hans Rosenström

Andreas Siqueland


Simon Starling

Fiete Stolte

Superflex in collaboration with The Propeller Group

Ines Tartler

Roi Vaara

Kjell Varvin

Bettina Camilla Vestergaard


George Young


Tags: Øystein Aasan, Caroline Achaintre, Margrét H. Blöndal, KP Brehmer, Elina Brotherus, Heman Chong, Bruce Conner, Jason Dodge, Aleksandra Domanovic, Luca Frei, Ellie Ga, Prinz Gholam, The Propeller Group, Matti Kujasalo, Oliver Laric, Karl Larsson, Ann Lislegaard, Katarina Löfström, Margret, Daniel Medina, Naeem Mohaiemen, Ulrike Mohr, Eadweard Muybridge, Simon Dybbroe Møller, Rosalind Nashashibi, Ioana Nemes, Raqs Media Collective, Mandla Reuter, Nikolai von Rosen, Simon Starling, Fiete Stolte, Superflex