Shanghai Biennale


09 Sep - 16 Nov 2008

7th Shanghai Biennale
9 September - 16 November 2008

Artistic director:
Zhang Qing

Julian Heynen
Henk Slager

Ursula Biemann
Big Dipper Group
Bu Hua
Chen Yun
Juergen Drescher
Inci Eviner
Harun Farocki
Zvi Goldstein
Yangah Ham
He Wenjue
Huang Hsinchien
Jia Zhangke
Jin Shi
Suchan Kinoshita
Charles Lim
Liu Ming
Angelika Mantz
Klaus Mettig
Roman Ondak
The Otolith Group
Ulrike Ottinger
Son Kuk Gyon
Su Xinping
Mieke Van de Voort
Clemens von Wedemeyer
Wang Qiang
Yang Shaobin
Yu Hua
Zhang Enli
Zhang Weijie
Zhu Jia

This year ́s theme, TRANSLOCALMOTION, examines the dynamic urban space and inhabitants against the background of urbanization. It reflects on the issues of migration, as well as the social, economic and cultural implications of urbanization. Aware of both the challenges and opportunities of the urbanization process, the exhibition explores how urban growth will contribute to and change our lives.

The hybrid expression TRANSLOCALMOTION is a metaphorical equivalent of the Chinese title of the 7th Shanghai Biennale, which is Kuai-cheng kuai-ke. The notion of the exhibition is thus clearly stated: cities in motion (kuai-cheng) signal the coming of the future, while people in motion (kuai-ke), signal the movement of people, and the vitality of the city.

Since its inauguration, the Shanghai Biennale has repeatedly taken the city itself and its urban conditions as a starting point for its artistic explorations. In line with this logic, the curatorial team of the 2008 edition, artistic director Zhang Qing and the curators Julian Heynen and Henk Slager, proposed to focus on one of the most import cornerstones of urban design: the public square which is a prime location of transfer, connection, connectivity, and meeting, as well as social and economic exchange.

Tags: Ursula Biemann, Po-i Chen, Zhang Enli, Inci Eviner, Harun Farocki, The Otolith Group, Julian Heynen, Zhu Jia, Ou Jin, Suchan Kinoshita, H.H. Lim, Charles Lim, Li Ming, Roman Ondák, Ulrike Ottinger, Wu Qiang, Zhang Qing, Li Qing, Lu Qing, Yang Shaobin, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Hu Yun, O Zhang