The force of photography

Works from the Museion Collection

25 Nov 2016 - 17 Sep 2017

Installation view. Foto: Luca Meneghel
Works from the Museion Collection
25 November 2016 – 17 September 2017

Curated by Letizia Ragaglia, Andreas Hapkemeyer

The exhibition explores the photographic works in the Museion collection. Portraits and self-portraits – images of others’ bodies and one’s own – investigate the notions of identity and otherness, the body and social space. The exhibition also features a selection of sculptures around the same theme.

A longside the exhibition, photographic works will be presented in the study collection room. These can be described, in the broadest sense of the word, as political works. They express a direct criticism of a socio-political situation and will be counterposed by idealistic and utopic visions.

Artists: Eleanor Antin; Vanessa Beecroft; Günther Brus; Letizia Cariello; Marcel Duchamp; VALIE EXPORT; Michael Fliri; Isa Genzken; Gilbert & George; Nan Goldin; Douglos Gordon; Roni Horn; Joan Jonas, Elke Krystufek; Ketty La Rocca; Zoe Leonard; Ana Lupas; Santu Mofokeng; Zanele Muholi; Brigitte Niedermair; Luca Patella; Arnulf Rainer; Lili Reynaud Dewar; Niki de Saint Phalle, Jana Sterbak, Wolfgang Tillmans, Nico Vascellari, Francesco Vezzoli.

Study Collection
Artists: Heimrad Bäcker; Rossella Biscotti; Matti Braun; Daniele Buetti; Paul De Vree; Liu Ding; Gianpietro Sonō Fazion; Hamish Fulton; Hans Glauber; John Heartfield; Olivier Menanteau; Eugenio Miccini; Santu Mofokeng; Otto Muehl ; Brigitte Niedermair; Walther Niedermayr; Michele Perfetti; Lamberto Pignotti; Sarenco; Klaus Staeck.


Tags: Eleanor Antin, Vanessa Beecroft, Rossella Biscotti, Matti Braun, Daniele Buetti, Letizia Cariello, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Liu Ding, Marcel Duchamp, Valie Export, Michael Fliri, Hamish Fulton, Isa Genzken, Nan Goldin, John Heartfield, Roni Horn, Joan Jonas, Elke Krystufek, Zoe Leonard, Santu Mofokeng, Otto Muehl, Zanele Muholi, Luca Patella, Rainer Fetting, Arnulf Rainer, Ketty La Rocca, Niki de Saint Phalle, Klaus Staeck, Jana Sterbak, Wolfgang Tillmans, Nico Vascellari, Francesco Vezzoli