German Histories

03 Feb 2007 - 20 Jan 2008

German Histories, exhibition view, GfZK Leipzig, 2008
Hartwig Ebersbach, Friedrich B. Henkel, Werner Stötzer, Hermann Glöckner, Harald Metzkes, Carlfriedrich Claus, Rosa Loy, Hans Brosch, Maren Roloff, Klaus Hähner-Springmühl, Neo Rauch, Martin Kippenberger, Auke de Vries, Fabrice Hybert, Ilya Kabakov, Imi Knoebel, Franz West, Jíři Georg Dokoupil, Gotthard Graubner, Maria Lassnig, Friedrich Schröder-Sonnenstern, Michael Morgner, Marcel Odenbach, Rosemarie Trockel, Günther Uecker, Jonathan Meese, A. R. Penck, Sarah Sze, Sarah Morris, Plamen Dejanov & Swetlana Heger, Jun Yang, SUPERFLEX, Christoph Schäfer, Nat Finkelstein, Billy Name, Francesco Vezzoli, Johanna Kandl, Erasmus Schröter, Inken Reinert, Julius Bissier, Hans Hartung, Emil Schumacher

Curated by Heidi Stecker, Barbara Steiner
in cooperation with: Marion Porten, Kay Bachmann, Markus Dreßen, Philipp Paulsen

For reasons of space, the GfZK has in the past only shown a restricted selection of the collection at any one time. The new building (GfZK-2) for the first time offers the opportunity of presenting these works in alternation, as an ongoing exhibition. In collaboration with the artists Marion Porten and Liam Gillick, an exhibition has been created that while following social discontinuities, documents changes in attitudes and the perception of art and the effects of these changes on art collection. The first presentation from the collection features artists from former East Germany, former West Germany and the reunified Germany, as well as both international and locally active artists of various generations.

The aim is to carry on a lively discussion of various conceptions of artistic quality, as well as systems of value and cultural consensus or dissent, against the background of current related debates both in a local setting and in the international arena. The relationship between east and west, which continues to be a fertile source of conflict, serves as a conceptual starting point. Following the first presentation, further interpretations will be developed in close collaboration with artists, designers and teachers.

Tags: Julius Bissier, Hans Brosch, Carlfriedrich Claus, Jiří Georg Dokoupil, Hartwig Ebersbach, Nat Finkelstein, Hermann Glöckner, Gotthard Graubner, Klaus Hähner-Springmühl, Hans Hartung, Plamen Dejanov & Swetlana Heger, Friedrich B. Henkel, Fabrice Hybert, Ilya Kabakov, Johanna Kandl, Martin Kippenberger, Imi Knoebel, Maria Lassnig, Rosa Loy, Jonathan Meese, Harald Metzkes, Michael Morgner, Sarah Morris, Billy Name, Marcel Odenbach, A. R. Penck, Neo Rauch, Inken Reinert, Maren Roloff, Christoph Schäfer, Friedrich Schröder-Sonnenstern, Erasmus Schröter, Emil Schumacher, Werner Stötzer, Superflex, Sarah Sze, Rosemarie Trockel, Günther Uecker, Francesco Vezzoli, Auke de Vries, Franz West, Jun Yang